Band Members  
Derek Sanders lead vocals, keyboards, acoustic guitar
Jeremy Lenzo bass guitar, vocals
Alex Garcia lead guitar
Jake Bundrick drums, percussion, vocals
Brooks Betts rhythm guitar

Mayday Parade is an American rock band from Tallahassee, Florida. ‘Their debut EP Tales Told by Dead Friends was released in 2006, and sold over 50,000 copies without any label support. On July 10, 2007, Mayday Parade released their debut album A Lesson in Romantics. After signing to Fearless Records in 2006, the band also signed onto a major label with Atlantic Records in 2009. Their second studio album, Anywhere But Here was released on October 6, 2009 and their third album, entitled Mayday Parade, was released on October 4, 2011.


Tales Told by Dead Friends (2005–2007)

With an undecided name, the band went into the studio to record their first EP Tales Told by Dead Friends with producer Lee Dyess. During the week they spent recording in the studio, they decided on the name Mayday Parade. The band went on their first U.S. tour with Brandtson and Mêlée, then on another tour with Plain White T’s shortly after the release of the EP.

A Lesson in Romantics and Lancaster’s departure (2007–2008)

In January 2007, the band started to record their debut studio album, A Lesson in Romantics. In April, shortly after the album was completed, however, not released yet, Jason Lancaster left the band for personal reasons. He would later go on to form the band Go Radio. On October 30th, 2012, however, Sanders was quoted saying that the band “might be taking on a new second lead vocalist, apart from me and Jake.”

The album was released on July 11, 2007. Mayday Parade supported their album on the 2007 Vans Warped Tour. The band made their first UK appearance in April 2008 performing at the Give it a Name festival in Sheffield and London. The band played the 2008 Vans Warped Tour and toured with All Time Low, The Maine, and Every Avenue in Fall 2008 on the Compromising of Integrity, Morality, and Principles in Exchange for Money tour.

Anywhere But Here (2009–2010)

The band began writing their new record in December 2008, the first writing process as a band without lyricist Lancaster. The band finished recording in June 2009. The title track, “Anywhere But Here”, was posted on their MySpace on July 28, along with a blog explaining that the first single of the new album will be called “The Silence”, and would be released on August 11, 2009. On August 4, “The Silence” was released on Mayday Parade’s MySpace and through iTunes. On September 9, Mayday Parade released another song from the album called “Kids in Love” to their MySpace page. The new album, entitled Anywhere But Here, was released on October 6, 2009.

Mayday Parade co-headlined both the 2009 Fall Ball tour with The Academy Is…, with supporting acts such as You Me at Six, The Secret Handshake, and Set Your Goals and the 2010 Take Action Tour along with We the Kings, A Rocket to the Moon, and There for Tomorrow. The band also played the 2010 Vans Warped Tour. The band covered the song “We Are the Champions” by Queen for the compilation album Punk Goes Classic Rock, released on April 27, 2010. They also recorded a cover of “In My Head” by Jason Derülo for the next release in the franchise, Punk Goes Pop 3, which was released on November 2, 2010. They also sing a cover of Somebody That I Used to Know on Punk Goes Pop 5.

Valdosta (2011)

In 2011, the band released an EP, entitled Valdosta (named after Valdosta, GA) that contained six tracks, including 2 brand new tracks titled; “Amber Lynn” and “Terrible Things”. The EP contained acoustic versions of “Kids in Love” and “Bruised and Scarred” from their second full-length studio album Anywhere But Here, “Your Song” from their debut EP Tales Told by Dead Friends” and “Jamie All Over” from their debut full-length studio album A Lesson in Romantics. Valdosta was released through Atlantic and Fearless Records on March 8, 2011.

On March 10, Songkick recognized Mayday Parade as the hardest working band of 2010, with 194 bookings and 74,000 miles logged in the entire year, with Willie Nelson and Lady Gaga ranking No. 7 and No. 8 in comparison. Mayday Parade played all the dates on the Australian 2011 Soundwave Festival. The band also played Slam Dunk Festival (both North and South) in Leeds and Hatfield (UK) on 28 and 29 May 2011, coinciding with their UK tour with A Rocket to the Moon and We Are the In Crowd.

Mayday Parade and upcoming fourth studio album (2011–present)

Written by the band in a beach house in Panacea, Florida, the self-titled album was produced by Zack Odom and Kenneth Mount, who also produced A Lesson in Romantics. Kenneth Mount tweeted a picture of the album’s tentative track list on April 13, 2011. Lead singer Derek Sanders also stated that “Oh Well, Oh Well” would likely be the first track.Four days later, Jake Bundrick, the drummer of Mayday Parade, tweeted to confirm that their third full-length album had been completed.

On July 6, 2011, Mayday Parade announced that they would be releasing their new self-titled album on October 4, 2011. They also released the track listing, revealing that the album had 12 songs. On July 27, Mayday Parade premiered the track “Oh Well, Oh Well” for the first time online at Alternative Press. On September 4, it was posted on Mayday Parade’s Facebook page that they would be releasing a song from the new album, called “When You See My Friends” via iTunes on September 9. This was posted followed by a series of pictures of the band captioned with lyrics from the song.

On October 4, 2011 Mayday Parade released their new self-titled album, which quickly reached No. 5 on the iTunes albums list. Also on October 5, 2011 Mayday Parade released their new music video for “Oh Well, Oh Well” Directed by Thunder Down Country. The animated video won the IndieStar TV award for Best Music Video of 2011.

On May 1, 2012, the debut album “A Lesson In Romantics” was released on vinyl. There was a set of 1500 “First Edition” album sets that featured the vinyl in red rather than the traditional black.–

On July 22, 2012 on a video post via Alternative Press lead singer Derek Sanders said the band would start writing a new album in December or January.

Together with californian Rock musician Vic Fuentes they charted with a cover of Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know”, which is on the fifth album of the “Punk Goes Pop…” series in the US-Rockcharts.

On January 10, 2013 the Band announced they would be heading back into the studio to release their fourth studio album via Fearless records. It will be available in Autumn 2013. Mayday Parade has recorded 15 tracks with the intention of putting 12 on the album; the remaining 3 may be used as b-sides.